Tag Archives: farmer mental health

MAR 19-APR 20, 2021: NFU Collective Care Workshop Series

Posted by Michalina Hunter on March 15, 2021

Collective Care Series Poster

Workshop 1: Layers of Mental Health March 19, 2021 (3 – 4:30pm PST) (4 – 5:30pm MST) (5 – 6:30pm CST) (6 – 7:30pm EST) (7 – 8:30pm AST) Just like an onion may develop super sweet flavours or tender gooey parts depending largely on the environments in which they’re grown, so too do farmers! Choose your layer-full plant and join us to get clearer on what mental health means to you, your peers, and how it is influenced, for better or worse, by the cultural structures in which we live. There will be opportunities to privately reflect with creative … Continue reading MAR 19-APR 20, 2021: NFU Collective Care Workshop Series

SURVEY: Soil Quality, Farmer Health, and Product Quality

Posted by Michalina Hunter on November 27, 2020

Soil Quality, Farmer Health, and Product Quality

You are invited to participate in a study to understand how capturing soil carbon through agricultural management practices impacts farmer health and food quality.  As a farmer in BC, we thought you might be interested in supporting efforts to shift the current policy paradigm to one that recognizes the multidisciplinary aspects of your job. If you are not a farmer, please pass this along to those that you know! The survey below will take about 20-25 minutes, and doesn’t require any long narrative contributions (although there is space for that if you are so inclined). You may wish to have … Continue reading SURVEY: Soil Quality, Farmer Health, and Product Quality

Tools for Farmer Mental Health and Wellness

Posted by Azja Jones Martin on January 03, 2020 3 Comments

tools for farmer mental health and wellness. Young Agrarians

Farmers work hard, and the conversation around farmer stress and burnout is not a new one. Young Agrarians hears about these challenges from farmers all the time – there is a huge burden on farmers to be superheroes! We know how much loving care you put into your crops and animals, and want to support you in caring for yourself as well. As you (hopefully!) take a bit of time off this winter, we wanted to share some resources with you that might be helpful in building up a toolbox of supports for your health and wellness this winter, in the 2020 season, and beyond! … Continue reading Tools for Farmer Mental Health and Wellness